St. Cloud State Foursome Named to AHCA All-American Team

Jack Ahcan (Photo Prout)

Buffalo, NY – The American Hockey Coaches Association (AHCA) announced it’s 2019 CCM/AHCA All-American teams and it contained four players from St. Cloud State University. The Huskies led the way in the number of players named  with two on the West First-Team and two on the West Second-Team. A total of 25 players were selected as All-Americans. Selected from St. Cloud State University were seniors Jimmy Schuldt on defense and Patrick Newell at forward on the West First-Team and  sophomore forward Blake Lizotte and junior defense Jack Ahcan were named to the West Second-Team.

Per St. Cloud State University, this marks the first time in the history of the program that SCSU has gained four All-America awards in one season.  The previous season high for All-America awards for SCSU was two in 2012-13 (Drew LeBlanc and Nick Jensen) and two in 1981-82 (Dan Pratt and Rory Eidness).  At the NCAA DI level, SCSU has now gained 17 All-American honors.  Schuldt becomes SCSU’s second player at the DI level to earn All-America honors twice and the fifth player overall.  In past years, Bobby Goepfert gained All-America status in 2005-06 and 2006-07 (West Second Team), while Mike Brodzinski was a two-time All-American at SCSU in 1985-86 and 1986-87, Dave Reichel was an All-American in 1977-78 and 1978-79 and Pat Sullivan was an All-American in 1973-74 and 1974-75.

Three of these players recently signed professional contracts with Schuldt signing with the Las Vegas Golden Knights, Newell with the New York Rangers and Lizotte with the Los Angeles Kings. Ahcan will be a senior on the 2019-20 SCSU squad.

The All-American East and West teams are listed below:


F: Nico Sturm, JR, Clarkson
F: Ryan Kuffner, SR, Princeton
F: Mitchell Chaffee, SO, Massachusetts
D: Cale Makar, SO, Massachusetts
D: Adam Fox, JR, Harvard
G: Cayden Primeau, SO, Northeastern


F: Rem Pitlick, JR, Minnesota
F: Patrick Newell, SR, St. Cloud State
F: Taro Hirose, JR, Michigan State
D: Jimmy Schuldt, SR, St. Cloud State
D: Quinn Hughes, SO, Michigan
G: Hunter Shepard, JR, Minnesota Duluth


F: Josh Wilkins, JR, Providence
F: David Cotton, JR, Boston College
F: Blake Christensen, JR, American International
D: Joseph Duszak, JR, Mercyhurst
D: Jeremy Davies, JR, Northeastern
G: Andrew Shortridge, JR, Quinnipiac


F: Troy Loggins, SR, Northern Michigan
F: Blake Lizotte, SO, St. Cloud State
F: Mason Jobst, SR, Ohio State
D: Scott Perunovich, SO, Minnesota Duluth
D: Bobby Nardella, SR, Notre Dame
D: Jack Ahcan, JR, St. Cloud State
G: Joey Daccord, JR, Arizona State

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.