SCSU’s Jimmy Schuldt Named Hobey Baker Hat Trick Finalist

Jimmy Schuldt (Photo Prout)

St. Cloud, MN – It’s been quite a week for SCSU’s three-time captain, Jimmy Schuldt who on April 3rd signed an entry-level contract with the Las Vegas Knights of the National Hockey League. On Thursday, April 4th, the Hobey Baker Award Committee announced that Schuldt is a Hobey Baker Hat Trick finalist. Schuldt joins Adam Fox of Harvard University and Cale Makar of the University of Massachusetts as the three finalists for this prestigious award. The winner will be announced on Friday, April 12th at Key Bank Rink in Buffalo, NY. This will coincide with the festivities surrounding the Frozen Four that weekend. The most coveted award in collegiate hockey, the Hobey Baker Award is given to the top NCAA men’s ice hockey player in the nation. Candidates must exhibit strength and character, both on and off the ice, contribute to the integrity of the team, display outstanding skills in all phases of the game and  show scholastic achievement and sportsmanship. Candidates must also comply with all NCAA rules, be full-time students in an accredited NCAA college or university, and complete 50% or more of the season.

Schuldt, a 3.66 GPA Finance major and four-time NCHC Scholar Athlete led the Huskies to a highly successful season capturing the regular season Penrose Cup Championship by 19 points over second-place UMD, went undefeated on home ice and was ranked #1 for 15 weeks. However, they fell short in the NCHC Frozen Faceoff Championship in double overtime to UMD and the following weekend were upset by American International College 2-1 in the NCAA West Regional. Schuldt, however, was showered with awards including NCHC Player of the Year, NCHC Defensive Defenseman of the Year, NCHC All-First Team and to top things off NCHC Scholar Athlete. A beloved player by the SCSU fan base, he never missed a game in a career that included 38 goals and 80 assists for 118 points in 156 games – a SCSU record for defensemen.

It should also be noted that, teammate, Patrick Newell was a Top Ten Finalist for the Hobey Baker Award this year.

Schuldt joins the following previous Hobey Baker Award Nominees and Winner from St. Cloud State University:

  • 2019: Patrick Newell (Top Ten Finalist)
  • 2018: Jimmy Schuldt (Top Ten Finalist)
  • 2016: Ethan Prow (Top Ten Finalist)
  • 2014: Nic Dowd (Hobey Hat Trick Finalist)
  • 2013: Drew Leblanc (Hobey Baker Award Winner)
  • 2007: Bobby Goepfert (Top Ten Finalist)
  • 2002: Mark Hartigan (Hobey Hat Trick Finalist)

The Award presentation will be broadcast live on the NHL Network on Friday, April 12th at 5:00 PM CT.

It will also be streamed live at

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.