SCSU’s Larson, Schuldt and Newell Capture NCHC Individual Awards

Dan Brooks, Brett Larson and Kelly Brooks Paradise (Photo Prout)

St. Paul, MN – The National Collegiate Hockey Conference handed out its individual awards on Thursday, March 21 and once again St. Cloud State University cleaned up winning four of the eight categories.

Brett Larson, in his inaugural year as head coach of the Penrose Cup SCSU Huskies was named the NCHC Herb Brooks Coach of the Year. Larson led the Huskies to a 17-0-1 home record, a 29-4-3 mark and a conference record 62 points. The team also carried the #1 ranking for 14 weeks. He is certain to have his team as the #1 seed in the NCAA West Regional in Fargo, ND next weekend. This is the second consecutive year that a SCSU head coach has won this award as Bob Motzko was the recipient in 2018.

Jimmy Schuldt continued to pile up the awards as he was named NCHC Player of the Year and Defensive Defenseman of the year. Schuldt led all NCHC defensemen in points scored this season with 33, as well as leading NCHC blue liners with 10 goals, while playing in all 36 games this season, having never missed a game in his career. The two-time First-Team All-NCHC selection also led all NCHC blue liners with 23 points in 24 conference games, as did both his six goals and 17 helpers in NCHC play. Schuldt’s +16 plus/minus in conference play was second among defensemen, as was his overall +24 plus/minus. Schuldt, who was named a Hobey Baker Award top-10 finalist for the second straight season, blocked 69 shots on the season, fifth in the NCHC, including 53 in conference play, which ranked third.

Patrick Newell was honored as NCHC Forward of the Year and won the Sportsmanship Award. A unanimous selection for Forward of the Year, Newell won the NCHC scoring title with 28 points in 24 conference games, while also tallying a league-best 13 goals in NCHC play. His 15 assists tied for fourth. The First-Team All-NCHC selection and Hobey Baker Award finalist also led the conference with a +18 plus/minus in NCHC action, while his +32 plus/minus overall leads the entire country. He was the NCHC February Player of the Month, as well. Overall, Newell also leads the NCHC with 43 points, while his 19 goals tie for the conference lead, including six game-winners, and his 24 assists tie for third. A four-year member of the NCHC Academic All-Conference Team, he has committed only four minor penalties over the last two seasons and has never committed a major penalty in his career.

Other award winners are listed below:

2018-19 NCHC Individual Award Winners
Herb Brooks Coach of the Year: Brett Larson, St. Cloud State
Player of the Year: Jimmy Schuldt, Sr., D, St. Cloud State
Rookie of the Year: Taylor Ward, F, Omaha
Senior Scholar-Athlete Award: Mason Bergh, F, Colorado College
Goaltender of the Year: Hunter Shepard, Jr., Minnesota Duluth
Forward of the Year: Patrick Newell, Sr., St. Cloud State
Defensive Defenseman of the Year: Jimmy Schuldt, Sr., St. Cloud State
Offensive Defenseman of the Year: Scott Perunovich, So., Minnesota Duluth
Defensive Forward of the Year: Justin Richards, So., Minnesota Duluth
NCHC Three Stars Award: Hunter Shepard, Jr., G, Minnesota Duluth
Sportsmanship Award winner: Patrick Newell, Sr., F, St. Cloud State
NCHC Postgrad Scholarship winner: Ryan Galt, Sr., F, Omaha
Media Excellence Award: Mick Hatten, Forum Communications



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.