Twice as Nice – Schuldt and Newell Top Ten Finalists for Hobey

St. Cloud, MN – The Hobey Baker Award committee announced their ten finalists for the 2019 Hobey Baker Memorial Award and it wasn’t a surprise to see SCSU senior defenseman Jimmy Schuldt on the list. However, somewhat out of left field was the announcement that SCSU senior forward Patrick Newell was also included as a finalist. From a performance standpoint during the 2018-19 season it was a glaring omission not to have Newell as a member of the original nominated group that was presented for fan voting. Credit to the committee  for correcting this omission and including one of college hockey’s top performers in this prestigious list of finalists.


Newell, an economics major has had an outstanding senior season leading the National Collegiate Hockey Conference in points and being awarded First Team All-NCHC in addition to being nominated as a NCHC Forward of the Year finalist. Newell racked up 19 goals and 24 assists for 43 points in 36 games and leads the nation with a +32. He is also a four time NCHC All-Academic selection. A clutch performer, Newell has six game winning goals for the Huskies and is relied upon to lead both the teams power play and penalty kill unit.

(Photo Prout)

Schuldt, a finance major and three-year captain for the Huskies is a two-time finalist for the Hobey Baker Award. In the NCHC, he has been nominated in four of five categories that he was eligible for – Player of the Year, Senior Scholar-Athlete, Defensive Defenseman and Offensive Defenseman. Schuldt was the top-scoring defenseman in the NCHC with 23 points in 24 games. His 17 assists and six goals led NCHC defenseman and his +16 was second. He was also tied for third in blocked shots with 53. Schuldt has played in 153 consecutive games, and surpassed Kelly Hultgren for career points by a defenseman with 116 and a school record 19 power play goals. In terms of academics, Schuldt, who is a finance major, carried an outstanding 3.66 GPA and is a four-time NCHC Scholar Athlete.

(Photo Prout)

The Huskies have had nine previous top ten finalists for this award including Mark Hartigan who was a top three finalist in 2002, Nic Dowd who was a top three finalist in 2014 and Drew LeBlanc who was the Hobey winner in 2013. 


2002 – Mark Hartigan*
2007 – Bobby Goepfert
2008 – Ryan Lasch
2013 – Drew LeBlanc*^
2014 – Nic Dowd*
2016 – Ethan Prow
2018 – Jimmy Schuldt
2019 – Jimmy Schuldt
2019 – Patrick Newell


* Top 3 ^ Winner

(research courtesy @TheExiledOne )

This years top ten list will be narrowed to three finalists with the 2019 Hobey Baker winner announced Friday, April 12, 2019 from the KeyBank Rink at The Rinks at Harborcenter in Buffalo, NY, during the NCAA Frozen Four. The 39th annual announcement will be televised live on the NHL Network at 6 p.m. ET, and streamed at


This years 10 finalists: 

Joseph Duszak – Mercyhurst University 
Adam Fox – Harvard University 
Taro Hirose – Michigan State University 
Quinn Hughes – University of Michigan 
Mason Jobst – Ohio State University
Cale Makar – University of Massachusetts-Amherst 
Patrick Newell – St. Cloud State University
Chase Priskie – Quinnipiac University 
Jimmy Schuldt – St. Cloud State University
Nico Sturm – Clarkson University



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.