St. Cloud State’s Schuldt Dominates Nominations for NCHC Individual Awards

(Photo Prout)

St. Cloud, MN – SCSU senior captain Jimmy Schuldt is about as humble an individual as you’ll find in an athlete. If he wasn’t, he’d had a difficult time putting on his helmet tonight as the #1 ranked Huskies host the Miami RedHawks in the quarterfinals of the NCHC playoffs. A day after being a unanimous choice for the NCHC All-Conference First team Schuldt dominated the board for nominations for NCHC individual awards to be handed out next Thursday in St. Paul prior to the Frozen Faceoff. Add this to his nomination for the Hobey Baker Award for which I’m certain he’ll be a top ten finalist.

On Thursday the NCHC announced its individual award nominees and Schuldt was nominated in four of five categories that he was eligible for – Player of the Year, Senior Scholar-Athlete, Defensive Defenseman and Offensive Defenseman. The only category he did not receive a nomination for was the NCHC Three Stars Award.

Schuldt was the top-scoring defenseman in the NCHC with 23 points in 24 games. His 17 assists and six goals led NCHC defenseman and his +16 was second . Schuldt was a three-time Defenseman of the Week in the NCHC this season. In terms of academics, Schuldt, who is a finance major, carried an outstanding 3.66 GPA. He was also tied for third in blocked shots with 53.

Also nominated for individual awards were coach Brett Larson for Herb Brooks Coach of the Year, David Hrenak for Goaltender of the Year, Patrick Newell for Forward of the Year, Blake Lizotte for Defensive Forward of the Year and Jack Ahcan who joined Schuldt as a nominee for Offensive Defenseman of the Year.

Previously this week, Schuldt, Blake Lizotte, Ryan Poehling and Patrick Newell were named to the NCHC All-Conference First team with Jack Ahcan and David Hrenak named to the NCHC All-Conference Second Team. Nick Perbix and Nolan Walker were named to the NCHC All-Rookie team.

Player of the Year
Colton Poolman, Jr., D, UND
Jimmy Schuldt, Sr., D, SCSU
Hunter Shepard, Jr., G, UMD

Herb Brooks Coach of the Year
Brett Larson, SCSU
Andy Murray, WMU
Scott Sandelin, UMD

Senior Scholar-Athlete Award
Mason Bergh, F, CC
Fredrik Olofsson, F, Omaha
Jimmy Schuldt, D, SCSU

Rookie of the Year
Noah Cates, F, UMD
Taylor Ward, F, Omaha

Goaltender of the Year
Dávid Hrenák, So., SCSU
Filip Larsson, Fr., Denver
Alex Leclerc, Jr., CC
Hunter Shepard, Jr., UMD

Forward of the Year
Jarid Lukosevicius, Sr., Denver
Mason Morelli, Sr., Omaha
Patrick Newell, Sr., SCSU

Defensive Defenseman of the Year
Mikey Anderson, So., UMD
Colton Poolman, Jr., UND
Jimmy Schuldt, Sr., SCSU

Offensive Defenseman of the Year
Jack Ahcan, Jr., SCSU
Scott Perunovich, So., UMD
Jimmy Schuldt, Sr., SCSU

Defensive Forward of the Year
Rhett Gardner, Sr., UND
Blake Lizotte, So., SCSU
Josh Melnick, Sr., Miami
Justin Richards, So., UMD

NCHC Three Stars Award
Trevor Gorsuch, Sr., G, WMU
Alex Leclerc, Jr., G, CC
Hunter Shepard, Jr., G, UMD


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.