Huskies Blow Up NCHC All-Conference Teams with Six Players Named

(Photo Prout)

Colorado Springs, CO – One day after SCSU first-year players Nick Perbix and Nolan Walker were named to the 2018-19 NCHC All-Rookie team, six more Huskies were named to the 2018-19 NCHC All-Conference First and Second teams. In a conference record, SCSU placed four players on the NCHC All-Conference First team – seniors Patrick Newell and Jimmy Schuldt were unanimous picks and they were joined by junior Ryan Poehling and sophomore Blake Lizotte. The other additions to the team were UMD Bulldog defenseman, Scott Perunovich and goaltender Hunter Shepard.

Named to the NCHC All-Conference Second team were sophomore goaltender David Hrenak and junior defenseman, Jack Ahcan. Joining them on this team were forward Hugh McGing of Western Michigan, forward, Justin Richards of UMD, forward Mason Morelli of Omaha and defenseman, Ian Mitchell of Denver.

The Huskies had no one named to the Honorable mention team. A surprising omission was pre-season All-Conference pick Robby Jackson who was third in overall points among conference players and tied for fourth overall in conference points with 10-24-24.

Several Huskies were previous winners with Hrenak and Lizotte named to the 2017-18 NCHC All-Rookie team and Jimmy Schuldt named to the 2017-18 NCHC All-Conference First team. Hrenak was also 2017-18 Honorable mention All-Conference.

Patrick Newell led the conference in total points with 13-15-28 followed by teammate Blake Lizotte with 11-24-25 (tied with Colt Conrad of WMU). Ryan Poehling was fourth with 6-18-24. Newell also led in conference goals with 13 and Lizotte was fourth tied with Nick Swaney (UMD) and Hugh McGIng (WMU) with 11. Ryan Poehling led the conference in assists with 18 and Jimmy Schuldt was second with 17.

The NCHC will announce its individual award finalists on Thursday, March 14. Individual award winners will be announced at the NCHC Awards Celebration in Saint Paul, Minn. on Thursday, March 21 on the eve of the 2019 NCHC Frozen Faceoff.

First-Team All-NCHC (first-place votes in parentheses)
F: Patrick Newell, Sr., St. Cloud State – 21 (7) (unanimous)
F: Ryan Poehling, Jr., St. Cloud State – 17 (5)
^F: Blake Lizotte, So., St. Cloud State – 14 (4)
*D: Jimmy Schuldt, Sr., St. Cloud State – 21 (7) (unanimous)
*^D: Scott Perunovich, So., Minnesota Duluth – 17 (5)
%G: Hunter Shepard, Jr., Minnesota Duluth – 12 (3)

Second-Team All-NCHC
F: Hugh McGing, Jr., Western Michigan – 12 (3)
F: Justin Richards, So., Minnesota Duluth – 7 (1)
F: Mason Morelli, Sr., Omaha – 7 (2)
^D: Ian Mitchell, So., Denver – 10 (3)
D: Jack Ahcan, Jr., St. Cloud State – 6 (0)
$^G: Dávid Hrenák, So., St. Cloud State – 11 (3)

Honorable Mention All-NCHC
F: Trey Bradley, Sr., Colorado College – 6 (1)
F: Nick Swaney, So., Minnesota Duluth – 3 (1)
$D: Colton Poolman, Jr., North Dakota – 4 (1)
D: Mikey Anderson, So., Minnesota Duluth – 4 (0)
G: Filip Larsson, Fr., Denver – 4 (1)
G: Alex Leclerc, Jr., Colorado College – 4 (1)



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.