Walker and Perbix Named to NCHC All Rookie Team

Colorado Springs, CO – The National Collegiate Hockey Conference unveiled it’s 2018-19 All Rookie team on March 12 and it included two St. Cloud State University players on the team. Nolan Walker (Anchorage, AK) received five first place votes and 17 points and was named to the group of forwards including UMD’s Noah Cates and Omaha’s Taylor Ward. Perbix (Elk River, MN) received four first-place votes and 14 points and was named at defense along with Bryan Yoon of Colorado College. 

Both have had an outstanding year for the Penrose Cup Champion and #1 ranked Huskies. Walker finished second in regular season scoring with 17 points including 4 goals and 13 assists. His .81 points per game led all NCHC rookies in conference play. His overall statistics include 7 goals and 19 assists for 26 points and he is currently +7. Perbix tied Noah Cates and Ryan Yoon for third in NCHC rookie scoring with 15 points including 5 goals and 10 assists in 24 games. Perbix also led the NCHC defensemen with +11 in plus/minus. Perbix is a draft choice of the Tampa Bay Lightning.   

Walker and Perbix join Easton Boidzinski, Blake Lizotte and David Hrenak who were all named to the NCHC All Rookie Team in 2017-18. 

Voting was conducted by the eight head coaches at each institution. Coaches voted for six forwards, four defensemen and two goaltenders, awarding first-place votes for six players (three forwards, two defensemen and one goaltender) and second-place votes for the other six selections. Three points were awarded for a first-place vote while one point was awarded for a second-place vote. Coaches were not allowed to vote for their own players.

The NCHC will announce its All-Conference Teams on Wednesday and its individual award finalists on Thursday. Individual award winners will be announced at the NCHC Awards Celebration in Saint Paul, Minn. on Thursday, March 21 on the eve of the 2019 NCHC Frozen Faceoff.

NCHC All-Rookie Team
F: Noah Cates, Minnesota Duluth – 19 (6)
F: Taylor Ward, Omaha – 18 (6)
F: Nolan Walker, St. Cloud State – 17 (5)
D: Bryan Yoon, Colorado College – 18 (6)
D: Nick Perbix, St. Cloud State – 14 (4)
G: Filip Larsson, Denver – 15 (4)
G: Adam Scheel, North Dakota – 15 (4)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.