SCSU’s Prow and Lindgren Finalists for Major College Hockey Awards

(Photo Prout)

(Photo Prout)

ST.CLOUD, MN (3/16/2016)  – Two St. Cloud State University players were announced today as finalists for two prestigious college hockey awards.

Senior defenseman, Ethan Prow (Sauk Rapids, MN) was named a Top Ten Finalist for the Hobey Baker Memorial Award  for the NCAA player displaying outstanding skills in all phases of the game, strength of character on and off the ice, sportsmanship and scholastic achievements. Prow, a senior and captain defenseman for the SCSU Huskies currently leads all Division I college hockey defenseman in both points and assists with 8 goals, 27 assists for 35 points and a +29 rating. And, he’s accomplished this while being penalized only once all season. In addition to being named team captain he’s been nominated for the Senior CLASS award and was named to the All-NCHC First Team and at the recent NCHC Awards Banquet was named NCHC Player of the Year, Defenseman of the Year and Offensive Defenseman of the Year.

The Hobey Hat Trick (three finalists) will be announced on March 31, 2016 and the winner of the Hobey Baker Award will be announced on Friday, April 8, 2016 from the historic Tampa Theatre during the NCAA Frozen Four.

The ten finalists are selected by voting from all 60 Division I head coaches and some consideration to online fan voting. The final selection will be made by a 27 member Selection Committee and additional fan voting.

It was also announced today that junior goaltender, Charlie Lindgren (Lakeville, MN) was named a Top Five Finalist for the Mike Richter Award honoring the most outstanding goaltender in NCAA men’s hockey. Lindgren currently carries the most wins by any goaltender in college hockey with a 28–8-1 record. He’s currently tied for 6th in shutouts with 5, 15th in save percentage (.926), and 18th in goals against average (2.08). Lindgren was named to the All-NCHC First team and recently broke the SCSU record for wins in a season previously held by Scott Meyer. He was also named NCHC Goaltender of the Year at the recent NCHC Awards Banquet.

The Mike Richter Award is determined by nominations from all 60 Division I men’s hockey head coaches and the winner is selected by a committee of coaches. scouts and members of the media. The award will be presented at ESPN’s “CawlidgeHawkey” event at Champions Sports Bar in Tampa, Florida on Friday, April 8 at 7:00 PM.

NCAA Release for Mike Richter Award

NCAA Release for the Hobey Baker Award

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.